PDA

View Full Version : Assist a new DM!

Dornath
2010-06-25, 01:21 PM
Hello Playground!

I'm planning on starting up a Roleplaying Games club for my last year of highschool. I've been tooling around Greyhawk for close to 3 years now, and while I'm no optimization king, I have a good grasp of the game.

The kids I'm going to be running this game for know next to nothing. I've chosen either 3.5 or Pathfinder for them, possibly a mixture of the two to make things a bit easier for them. (The skills mostly, I really like the idea of Perception and Linguistics. And the unlimited 0 level spells)

Now, I have no idea what the characters or classes are going to be. I'm assuming a group of 6 people, because I can't handle more than that (First foray into Gamemastering) and was wondering...

Does anyone have any ideas for adventures?

I've currently got a bit of a story, Starting with the Wreck Ashore adventure(3.5) and leading into the Frozen Whispers adventure (3.5). In between, I've stuck Something's Cooking, because everyone likes Pizza Golems.

I've come to a bit of a halt here. I'm not sure where to go. I'd like to have things planned out in advance, so as to have contingency plans and a base to improvise off of. Where does the playground think I should take my campaign from here?

Note, this isn't starting until September. It's just on my mind now.

valadil
2010-06-25, 01:34 PM
I'd like to have things planned out in advance, so as to have contingency plans and a base to improvise off of. Where does the playground think I should take my campaign from here?

I know it feels good to have a safety net, but you're overplanning at this point. Run one of the modules. Familiarize yourself with the others. As you play through the first mod, see what your group likes and finds interesting. They'll probably find something in the first game to attach themselves to. Your job will be figuring out what that is and providing a second adventure that fills that need.

Fouredged Sword