PDA

View Full Version : Evil or Not So Evil? [3.5]

Vulkarius
2010-07-01, 08:12 PM
I'm fairly new to 3.5 (but not to other RPGs) and I was wondering if being an evil cleric would negatively effect my group. The group is pretty small and most likely good. Halfling rogue and _______ wizard. We were going to play Shadowmountain (or something similar. Can't quite remember it was a week ago) any suggestions for what type of cleric to be good/evil, race, domain. I rolled

thank you for your help.

mabriss lethe
2010-07-01, 08:22 PM
depends on your group, really. I managed to pull off playing a magic trap abusing cleric of Set in a group with a Paladin. (hint, it involved a trap of perpetual Undetectable Alignment and a really good bluff check.) His battle cry has now become a legend in the gaming group. "For the Glory of Se..[looks at the Paladin]..omebody!"

PId6
2010-07-01, 08:22 PM
Biggest problem with evil clerics is that you can't spontaneously cast healing spells when the party really needs it. Solution: get yourself a wand of Lesser Vigor (or Cure Light Wounds if core) and just use that.

Just having an evil character shouldn't be too bothersome as long as you're not playing Stupid Evil and there are no Lawful Stupid paladins in the party. Try to lean towards LE or NE, and be selfish or greed-inspired rather than an "Eval 4 teh lolz" type. Roleplaying wise, make sure that your character has a connection to the other PCs, whether they're family members or business partners or just friends. Having such a connection helps explain what your character is doing there and why he would stick with the party (contrary to popular television, evil people can be just as loyal/polite/nice to others as good people, even if their motives are different).

For mechanical stuff, what sources are available?

Assassin89
2010-07-01, 08:32 PM
For race, human or anything that gives a wisdom bonus with minimal LA, like the lesser aasimar.

Stat wise, I suggest placing them as follows: