PDA

View Full Version : New to this

RedVerse
2010-07-06, 12:47 PM
Hello there, my name is Rachael and I'm eighteen.
Growing up my parents were super strict and religious, and I wasn't allowed to participate in any form of RPGs, or allowed to have any friends who played them. I always wanted to, though, and now that I'm out of the house I'm determined to learn.

I know the general basis of how these games work - sort of like a MMORPG, except put all in point and narrative custom form, right? But I've had no experience with these things, except for once at a convention where I got as far as creating a character. Besides that, though, I am entirely oblivious as to any nuances and unspoken rules that might exist.

My boyfriend has informed me that he wants me to DM a game sometime, as I'm pretty good at plots. I have blithely informed him that I would love to, but now I'm realizing that I have some resemblances to a deer on a late highway who suddenly discovered a large, bright car is coming her way.

He told me to come here and beg for mercy, or help or whatever the people around here dole out. I'm pretty sure I can do it, based on what I already know and what I know I can do, but I'm sorely lacking in the experience factor.

So here I am, asking for your advice for a pure beginner, on some basic things I need to know about RPGs, and particularly being thrust into the DM position of things. I would immensely appreciate it!

Prodan
2010-07-06, 12:50 PM
You should not be DMing a game if this is your first time doing anything of the sort.

Edit: I guess you could look at this (http://www.giantitp.com/forums/showthread.php?t=76474)...

PersonMan
2010-07-06, 12:53 PM
You should not be DMing a game if this is your first time doing anything of the sort.

Edit: I guess you could look at this (http://http://www.giantitp.com/forums/showthread.php?t=76474)...

Bad link. This (http://www.giantitp.com/forums/showthread.php?t=76474) is what you wanted.

hamishspence