View Full Version : [3.5] WBL and item cost limits

2010-07-13, 10:39 PM
I remember somewhere in the DMG mentioning that a character starting above level 1 should have no more than a certain percentage of the WBL be in a single item. Can someone point out the page where it says that or am I just bringing up a (popular) house rule?

2010-07-13, 11:35 PM
Dungeon Master's Guide, page 42:
As a general rule, a new character can spend no more than half her total wealth on a single item, and no more than one quarter the total wealth on consumables such as ammunition, scrolls, potions, wands, or alchemical items.