PDA

View Full Version : Lvl for ranger to use CLW wand? [3.5]



gomipile
2010-07-24, 09:26 PM
Does a ranger have to be at least level 8 to use a wand of cure light wounds? All of the campaigns I play in start at level 1, and in 10 years I've never even seen a campaign with characters over level 5 in my area. Given that, I'm wondering if the ability of rangers to use healing wands matters at the levels I'll be seeing.

Fouredged Sword
2010-07-24, 09:28 PM
It is on your spell list, so you can use it starting at one. You don't need the slots to actualy cast it, so you can, so long as you have the eventual ability to cast it with that class.

Kalirren
2010-07-24, 09:36 PM
Alternative interpretation:

As a ranger, you don't have spellcasting as a class feature until 4th level, so CLW is technically not on your spell list until 4th level.

Edit: see below.

Jack_Simth
2010-07-24, 09:36 PM
First Level (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/magicItems/magicItemBasics.htm#spellTrigger), because

Spell Trigger

Spell trigger activation is similar to spell completion, but itís even simpler. No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken. Anyone with a spell on his or her spell list knows how to use a spell trigger item that stores that spell. (This is the case even for a character who canít actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin.) The user must still determine what spell is stored in the item before she can activate it. Activating a spell trigger item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity. (Emphasis added)
and Wands (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/magicItems/wands.htm)

use the spell trigger activation method