View Full Version : Hellfire Warlock / Hellfire Shield

2010-07-25, 01:18 AM
Hellfire Shield states "Whenever someone directs a melee attack against you, you can, as an immediate action, aim a blast of hellfire at that creature."

So if a dragon did a full attack with all 6 attacks (bite, clawx2, wingx2, tail), would the hellfire warlock be able to use the Hellfire Shield 6 times? One for each "attack"? Or is the "Full Attack" considered one attack, thus only use Hellfire Shield once?

If 6 times then I suppose each dragon attack should be rolled separately since it may be possible for the hellfire warlock to kill the dragon before all of its attacks get a chance to do damage.

One obvious drawback would be the 6 points of lost CON, but I just wanted to get the rules straight.

2010-07-25, 01:19 AM
You only get one immediate action a round, so it doesn't really matter.

2010-07-25, 01:26 AM
The dragon in question is taking 6 melee attacks against you (all as part of a single full-round action). If you could somehow take as many immediate actions as you wanted, the dragon would trigger Hellfire Shield on each attack. But as arguskos points out, this distinction is purely academic in this case.

2010-07-25, 04:15 PM
Well, not strictly, Chronotyryn Shapechange and extra swift actions can both arguably increase the amount of Immediates you can perform. Outside that, yeah.