View Full Version : Core: Infinite Crafting XP? (3.5)

2010-08-13, 09:10 PM
So I was thinking about the game rules recently, and I think I found an odd loophole in the Core rules, revolving around the spell Greater Restoration (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/spells/restorationGreater.htm), and critters that can Drain Levels (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/specialAbilities.htm#energyDrainAndNegativeLevels) in a controlled manner (such as, say, the Wight (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/monsters/wight.htm)).

So suppose you're a Lawful-Neutral Cleric-14 (or higher, but 14 is the minimum), who Rebukes/Commands undead. And you have some crafting you need to do, but problem: You're at exactly 14th level.

How do you solve this dilemma?
1) Command a Wight.
2) Tell the wight to hit you exactly once (giving you a negative level).
3) Voluntarily fail your save, converting the negative level into Level Loss (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/specialAbilities.htm#levelLoss) ... which sets your XP to midpoint between 13th and 14th (84,500 xp).
4) As you're 13th level now, with 84,500 xp, you have 6,500 xp available for crafting, spells, or other purposes (but see below - you need to reserve enough for a particular spell).
5) Craft a bunch... but don't take more than 13 weeks. And save 500 xp for the next step.
6) When you're done crafting, use your remaining 500 xp to cast Greater Restoration (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/spells/restorationGreater.htm) on yourself, which restores: "the creature to the highest level it had previously attained". You're now level 14 again, exactly.

(this can also be done by a Wizard-18+, or a Sorcerer-19+, using Wish).

No Thought Bottle required.

Any particular flaws (besides the standard cheese responses, where the DM says "knock it off", "I'm house-ruling that to not work", throws books at you, or similar)?

2010-08-13, 09:24 PM
works better at higher levels with one hit per level to loose, after you spend the xp but otherwise good stuff.

2010-08-13, 10:06 PM
works better at higher levels with one hit per level to looseYes it does. And a Ring of Greater Spell Storing lets you stick the Restoration in there, and pull it out later... which means you can lose levels down to 1st if you really, really want to (and, potentially, rebuild your character almost completely on the way back up).

, after you spend the xp but otherwise good stuff.Tasty gouda, then? Cool.

2010-08-13, 10:57 PM
I thought of this as soon as I read Greater Restoration, but I figured there was some minor rule preventing it somewhere or it would have been more popular. But, as far as I know it's perfectly legal.