PDA

View Full Version : Should I switch to Pathfinder from 3.5?

Dragon Star
2010-08-26, 03:33 PM
So, about five years ago I started playing 3.5 D&D. When 4e came out I didn't like it (I see no reason to go into why, but please no one try to get me to start 4e), so I just continued playing 3.5. It had nearly always been my goal to collect all 3.5 books, and by the time 4e came out I had 29 books.
So I just carried on with 3.5, getting only slightly annoyed by the rising scarcity and cost of 3.5 books.
Then a friend got the core pathfinder rule-book for Christmas. He showed it to me, and I was suddenly faced with a dilemma. Pathfinder was much better than 4e, and it was in print unlike 3.5, so should I switch?
This post is to help me resolve this problem.

Pros of Pathfinder: 1. It's in print. 2. Characters are more powerful with more options (like the new class features, more feats, so on.). 3. It seems like I can use most of my 3.5 books with it, so that means i won't have wasted about $350. :smalleek:

Cons of Pathfinder: 1. Since the character are more powerful, unless the monsters are too, Pathfinder is unbalanced. 2. The very swift glance I got at the Bestiary made it seem that they've had to give up or change a lot of monsters. 3. I would have to buy the new books. 4. I would have to relearn how to play (I know this will be easier that learning 3.5 from scratch was, but there would still be rule changes.)

Please give opinions, more pros and cons, and some information on the legalities of how paziao effectively copied 3.5 D&D.:smallsmile:

Esser-Z
2010-08-26, 03:38 PM
Absolutely. And instead of buying, since you know the base rules, you could just use the SRD (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/)...

Silly Wizard
2010-08-26, 03:44 PM