PDA

View Full Version : [3.5] Druid 5 - Gear?

Kerrin
2010-09-01, 12:11 PM
Hi everyone,

I've read these forums for some time now and enjoy the friendly atmosphere. Thanks for making me want to join the community.

I have to start off with asking for a bit of advice on what gear to buy for a character I'm making - and I'll admit I'm fairly new to the 3.5 system.

Game: D&D 3.5
Class: Druid
Level: 5
Money: 9,000gp
Books: PHB, DMG, Magic Item Compendium

I have everything else figured out to the best of my knowledge so far but figuring out what gear to purchase is a bit daunting. I've seen many things suggested here and elsewhere (e.g Monk's Belt with Wilding Clasp) but those kinds of items are way outside a starting 5th-level druid's budget of 9,000gp.

What should the priorities be for a Druid 5? Seems like he won't yet have enough wild shaping or items usable in wild shape form to not get creamed due to low AC, so at this level is he in a summon-and-hide-at-the-back mode?

I guess I'm a little gunshy regarding AC due to my first and only previous 3.5 character (a Fighter 4) getting hit a lot even with an AC 18. Maybe I shouldn't be so worried about that with this character.

Any gear pointers are greatly appreciated!

Kaww
2010-09-01, 12:23 PM
I'm sorry, but what is your primary roll?
Fighter, Caster, Healer, Ranged, Scout, Skillmonkey?
Most items are situational at best, as is everything in D&D...

Kerrin
2010-09-01, 12:42 PM
Good point! I should have stated that.

The party has all the primary roles covered so my druid is mostly a backup in several areas. To prioritize:

(1) Backup fighter to plug any gaps on the front line via wild shape, summoning, and animal companion.

(2) Backup healer via healing spells.

(3) Backup scout via wild shape and appropriate skills.

Definitely not a caster blasting out direct damage, and very little if any ranged action.

Kaww
2010-09-01, 12:54 PM