PDA

View Full Version : beguiler, please help

vjbp
2010-09-02, 07:04 PM
well hello everyone :)
I'm kinda new here, so not sure how to start, but, here it goes:
I read the beguiler class, and I really liked it, 'couse I'm all about roguish classes, and this one sounded better then the alternative (swashbuckler/fighter... and the likes... you know... without sleight of hand as class skill), and I can't choose rogue, or any scoundrel class for that matter, since I ... kinda of... died.
Anyways, I'm pretty new to all this spellcasting ... thingy, so I've got like ton of questions, and an idea for prestige class.
The idea is beguiler8/shadowcraft mage1 (until I advance... 'course), and I would be whisper gnome... with as much as 36k gp :P
Could you give me any suggestions on which feats should I get, or which item would be useful? And which items must I have (at spellcasting, I'm really a newb)?

Dusk Eclipse
2010-09-02, 07:08 PM
Handbook (http://brilliantgameologists.com/boards/index.php?PHPSESSID=t0kuqiua7lhvr2eeefanhskkg1&topic=2322.0) learn to love them

vjbp
2010-09-02, 07:17 PM
thanks! will read :)

Biffoniacus_Furiou
2010-09-02, 07:33 PM
Beguiler is a fairly solid entry into Shadowcraft Mage, but there are much stronger choices such as Illusionist and Cloistered Cleric. If you want to use Shadowcraft Mage, you'll definitely want Heighten Spell, with Earth Sense and Earth Spell in RoS, along with Residual Magic in CM. (Greater) Spell Focus: Illusion is highly recommended, Rapid Metamagic in CM is pretty necessary, and Ability Focus: Silent Image from the Monster Manual should also be useful.