PDA

View Full Version : multiclassing my mounted archer/charger into spells.

heymejack
2010-09-02, 08:30 PM
so this is sort of a hypothetical question, but you folk seem to like theorizing, so let's do it:

i have made my halfling on a deinonychus archer/charger. he's good, he's got education, knowledge devotion, ride by and spirited charge, the important ranged feats. he's not perfect he could be a better charger, or a better archer, but it's good times, he's versatile. here's my question: if i was gonna go into epic, i would almost certainly want to do something that gets will. i've been looking into prestige classes that get will and would give me more archery abilities, or more charging abilities, but lets face it folks, the way to make my guy better is to give him some caster levels. but i have ZERO experience with spell casters. I need to know what spell caster I should take. his charisma and intelligence are both 14's, so he'll just be ok, but all i need. no wisdom though. there are so many. duskblade. hexblade. spellsword. wizard. sorcerer. battle sorcerer? the ones that get full base attack would be nice, of course, but if the wizard spells are gonna be my best bet, then that's what i should do. can always switch over to eldrich knight once i get enough levels, anyway.

but i just dont know who gets the best spells. i have some levels of ranger already, but i took the variant that gets feats instead of spells, so they'd be coming from somewhere OTHER than ranger.

so what should I do? who gets the best spells for a mounted, mostly ranged, occasionally charging, halfling hunter/tracker guy?

thank you very much.

Eldariel
2010-09-02, 09:10 PM