PDA

View Full Version : De-stress?

Syka
2010-09-25, 08:44 PM
So, apparently my body is manifesting it's stress load by irritating/inflaming my intestines (specifically, the doctor said they were "overactive") and causing me to get stabbing pains in my abdomen.

Doc says I need to start exercising and relaxing- some sort of regular exercise, meditation, yoga, something.

Problem: The reason I'm stressed in the first place is lack of time. :smalleek: I'm a full time MBA student in school four days a week, work part time, have a research assistantship (currently on hiatus for midterms, might drop permanently due to this health thing), and have to juggle family and boyfriend commitments (clean around the house, clean my hamsters cage, help plan my sister's wedding, not ignore my boyfriend, etc).

I've already dropped an internship that I did over the summer which was supposed to continue indefinitely.

So...tips how to squeeze exercise/meditation/etc in to an already very busy schedule?

EDIT: I should add, I was offered sedatives reluctantly but declined. It would help my digestive system, but I don't want the fogginess. It's not any sort of dangerous thing yet, but it could turn in to, like, an ulcer or something later on. Trying to avoid that, lol.

I also have a script for some bloodwork to get done in a few weeks if I don't get better. He said it MIGHT be a virus or some such, but at this point he thinks it's fairly unlikely.

Rae Artemi
2010-09-25, 08:54 PM
I'm not very good with this stuff, but have you considered taking up yoga/meditation/etc. with your boyfriend?

Thajocoth
2010-09-25, 08:56 PM
Hmm... Is meditation actually going to work to de-stress you if you do manage to fit it in? With a packed schedule, you're likely to be thinking the whole time of what else you could be getting done.