PDA

View Full Version : WFRP Newbie GM looking for tips

pife
2010-10-06, 03:52 PM
I hit a mini jackpot the other day when I was given (gratis, free, no charge) 9 books for WFRP 2nd Ed. I've always wanted to play in or run a game in this world, but never broke away from my other games to buy it.

Now however, it's sitting there staring at me, daring me to run a game.. I've been playing PnP RPG's for 25 years, mostly 2/3/3.5 DnD... All of you folks that have played or DM'ed WFRP2e, I'm looking for some highlights.. I don't want to run this like a D&D game with fancy classes.. I'm wanting to run a gritty nasty Warhammer game.. Here's what I'm hoping for

I've read and am absorbing the rules, and I like them a lot. But I'd like to hear from all of you about those little intangibles that a WFRP rookie wouldn't notice? What kinds of things do I need to keep in mind? What works, and what doesn't? Is there some crunch I MUST know about? Did you use Insanity Points like it suggests in the rules? Any house rules that really improved things? Hit me with what you've got!

Thanks very much for any advice you can give..

comicshorse
2010-10-06, 08:08 PM
Beware of Elves, they can start a little high powered ( this was only figured out half way through the game so we have no House Rule to fix it)

Yes use Insanity Points its all part of the lovely horror of the background

Let your P.C.s pick there starting careers no matter what the rules say. Its their character after all

Psyx
2010-10-07, 05:44 AM
Read up on some of the WFRP back-fiction, to get an idea of the world.

It's pretty low magic, and magic should be rare and treated with a large measure of superstition. Having -at most- one magic user of any type in the party is a good plan. I'd actually recommend using random character generation for a nice low-key start to things.