PDA

View Full Version : [3.5 D&D] How many points for point buy system?

Tiscooler
2010-10-11, 03:09 PM
My players and I agree we should use the point buy system at the start of the game, but I don't know how many points to give.

If using the point buy system, how many points should be available to use? This would also be the first time I used point buy, so are there any suggestions to using this system or things I should know about it?

Eloel
2010-10-11, 03:11 PM
Weak = 25
Average = 28
Above Average = 32
Powerful = 36

These, to my knowledge, are the most used PBs.

Killer Angel
2010-10-11, 03:15 PM
Go for 28 or 32 pts.
Definitely, the point buy is better then die rolls. You'll avoid PCs with different totals: when a pc rolled two 18 and one 17, while the higher stat of another PC is a single 16, there's no good in it.

Dubious Pie
2010-10-11, 03:17 PM
I am a Computer Programmer with a serious hobby-level interest in statistics, 4d6b3 is approximately a 38 Point Buy.

Kol Korran
2010-10-11, 03:17 PM
as said above, use 28 or 32. i personally like giving 32, makes the players a bit happier, and doesn't affect the game THAT much.

jiriku
2010-10-11, 03:19 PM
I typically use 25-PB for groups composed mostly of casual gamers or players who are new to D&D, and 32-PB for groups of heavy optimizers and powergamers who want to push the system.

25-PB is easier for you as the DM -- monsters and NPCs built on the Elite Array are also using 25-PB. If you switch to a higher PB, you'll need to improve the elite array to match the higher PB, and upconvert any stock elite monsters and NPCs to match as well.

Eldariel
2010-10-11, 03:28 PM