PDA

View Full Version : Where to go?

Syka
2010-10-11, 08:06 PM
I have some money saved up from when I graduated my undergraduate school. I have not once touched it and will not do so for anything other than travel. Specifically, to Europe.

I have a few options. There is a study abroad program at my graduate school that I can tag along for to England, which has the benefit of my being in a group and probably being able to go along for their day trips. However, any trips I want to take elsewhere need to be planned myself, and I'd probably still be paying for the room where they will be based. I'm not sure and need to check. I think it's reasonably priced, however (about 3,400 USD for over a month). Added bonus in that I have saving bonds that can be put to this and avoid tapping too much in to my graduation money.

However, I can also go somewhere else on my own. Ideally, I want to go with Oz but...he lacks funds and this trip needs to happen this summer or...well, it might not ever happen. The saving bonds couldn't be used for this, but I have about 6,000 USD (plus some from my job). I could go anywhere. I've had my heart set on Rome and/or Greece because of my training as a Classicist, but (me being me) I want to go everywhere. I want to see Spain, France, Switzerland, Germany, the Netherlands, Belgium, Turkey...everywhere that's even remotely in Europe.

Limited funds at this time prevent it (obviously).

So...I'm looking for a place that isn't too touristy (as much as I'd die to go to Rome or Athens, I wouldn't focus my trip there). Generally safe for a lone or pair of female travelers. Roman and/or Greek ruins are a huge plus. Romance language or Greek also a plus but not necessary.

I'm kind of leaning toward Italy due to some relatives I have there, but it's by no means set in stone. I basically just want some suggestions for if I don't do the trip to England with my school.