View Full Version : Size modifier and Reach

2010-10-22, 07:57 AM
I'm sure this has been asked before, but does increasing a weapon's size (not it's wielder's) ever result in a Reach weapon?
A Huge quarterstaff, for example. It's got to be at least the same length as a Glaive, right?

2010-10-22, 08:03 AM
No. I don't have the proof for it at hand, but this question came up about a week ago, and people were quite certain that it doesn't work.

2010-10-22, 08:05 AM
By RAW, no. Reach is dependent entirely on the wielder's size and whether the weapon has the reach property or not. Weapon size matters only in that the reach property is ignored if the weapon is too small for the wielder.

2010-10-23, 08:02 AM
Yes, you have an enormous weapon, but even if you had the strength, you lack the size (and thus the leverage) to hit with it properly. That's how I'd explain it, anyway. That said, it's often much easier to just increase the wielder's size, with spells like enlarge person being available from Lv 1.