PDA

View Full Version : New DM Question: How to Describe Combat

Atar Kelith
2010-11-13, 11:53 PM
I've recently started DMing a D&D 4.0 game with a group of my friends. Most of us haven't played any table top RPGs before. This is my first time DMing I'm about 10ish sessions in.

Can anyone direct me to a good resource about how to describe combat? Or share some gems of your own? (We're pretty combat centric.) I need some help on how to talk about it. My assumption is that DMs tend to have the players describe what they do and then describe what happens?

How do you convey bloodied status with out explicitly stating it? Also how do you describe a decent hit vs a devastating hit vs a miss vs a close miss?

So far the best thing I've come it with is a description of a zombie dodge, "The player attacks the zombie. You swing at the zombie! Gaahhhh, (I pantomime a zombie lazily/inadvertently swaying from straight up to tilted and back.) He slowly, yet deftly dodges your attack."

fireinakasha
2010-11-14, 12:09 AM
A good way I've seen used and used myself is: fluff the attacks as if hit points are less a character's physical durability than their ability to avoid fatal blows.

So, attacks that miss, obviously, can be described as such. "The archer fires at you, but you're not even sure where the arrow went."

Normal attacks that do small to moderate amounts of damage could be described as "the bolt buries itself in your armor, just a few inches away from the hole, and you feel a rush of excitement mixed with fear." Or "you hear a high pitched whine as the sword flies inches from your face." Or what have you. Something that implies a very near-miss sort of situation, an attack that it really took some effort and expenditure of endurance to avoid.