PDA

View Full Version : Explanation of Critical Hits with Weapon-Like Spells

Corwin_of_Amber
2010-11-20, 03:40 AM
My DM had an interesting question for me: What is actually happening when my inflict spell gets a critical hit? His reasoning behind this question was due to the fect that the spells descriptions involves infusing the entire body with negative energy, not targetting a specific place. I explained it by mentioning that I have a feat (Mastery of Day and Night) that specifically mentions that I have a sense of the locations of the positive and negative energy planes and can better focus my spells. This seemed like a poor reason.

I am wondering how this exactly happens now. Since he said that spells like inflict and cure don't target specific areas I asked if I can then score critical hits on things without anatomy or that are just immune to traditional crits (e.g. - stabbing something and hitting its heart).

Is there any information about this? Can inflict spells crit like other weapon-like spells or do they follow a separate set of sules that allows them to bypass crit immunity?

Kumori
2010-11-20, 03:56 AM
Assuming that you are speaking of v3.5:

Any Touch or Ranged touch spell (those that require an attack roll) can cause a critical hit. From the PHB:

Touch: You must touch a creature or object to affect it. A touch spell that deals damage can score a critical hit just as a weapon can. A touch spell threatens a critical hit on a natural roll of 20 and deals double damage on a successful critical hit. Some touch spells, such as teleport and water walk[/], allow you to touch multiple targets. You can touch as many willing targets as you can reach as part of the casting, but all targets of the spell must be touched in the same round that you finish casting the spell.
[...]