PDA

View Full Version : It's all about the sword, baby! 3.PF

HatesSpiders
2010-11-20, 07:46 PM
So, I'm a little stumped. I'm playing this Swordsage/Weapon Master and I need to pick three more feats. Only problem, there are so many to choose from and I'm feeling rather overwhelmed.

Obviously, it's all about swordplay for this character (and the campaign setting is rather low on the magic front, so not much to worry about in the way of Tier 1s). I want to continue this theme by making the character as deadly as possible with a sword in her hand. But, I'm not sure of the best way to go about it. I'm still learning my way around 3.PF.

As a lurker, you guys have provided me and my fellow players with plenty of inspiration, so I was hoping you could do the same in this case.

Here are the feats I've chosen so far:

Vital Recovery
Healing HP between encounters or upon maneuver recovery is always good

Rapid Assault
Getting in that extra damage in the 1st round adds a good out-of-the-gate punch

Power Attack
Good all around basic feat, that qualifies her for more advanced ones

Cleave
Helps when she is ganged up on by multiple opponents

Dodge
Makes her harder to hit, so kind of a given

Thanks for your help!

Kalaska'Agathas
2010-11-20, 07:52 PM
What style of fighting do you intend to use? What feats do you already have? What sort of sword do you want to use? Do you have Adaptive Style? If not, get it, as it allows you to recover your maneuvers much more quickly (all of them for a Full Round Action, instead of just one, and you can swap them out for different maneuvers, if I remember correctly).

If you're wielding the sword with two hands, power attack is the way to go. That said, are you using the Pathfinder or 3.5 version? If you're using the Pathfinder version, see if your DM will allow you to choose how much BAB you sacrifice, instead of having it be a fixed amount. That way you can adjust your Power Attack to the AC of the enemy you're fighting.

Newbieshoes