PDA

View Full Version : 4e Healer for a Party of 3?

Dakaran
2010-11-22, 10:38 AM
I'm pretty new to playing D&D and some friends and I are for starters going to have a DM and 3 PCs. Would anyone have suggestions for a good "healer" class for a party of 3? Is Cleric the only class with ranged healing? I looked at the Paladin, but I don't know how I feel about only getting 3 to 4 heals a day and with only a range of touch. Am I underestimating lay on hands? Is there another class besides Cleric that's well known for healing? Is a Shaman a useful healer in a party of 3? I've only looked at classes in PHB 1 and 2 so if there's a class in PHB 3 that I'm overlooking it's not on purpose.

Thanks,
Dakaran

Kudaku
2010-11-22, 10:43 AM
Hi there! I'm not too well versed in 4e and I'm sure this post will get swordsaged in no time, but in 4th edition healer and leader can be interchanged quite easily - Warlord is the other Primary Leader in PHB 1, so that would be an option. Shaman would make a viable leader, so would the Bard.

Sipex
2010-11-22, 10:43 AM
Your choices boil down to these classes for those with dedicated healing:
Cleric (PHB1) - Heals with magic. Also good at minor tanking and providing support in battle.
Warlord (PHB1) - Heals with encouragement. Gives out buffs like candy.
Bard (PHB1) - Heals with song. Good at shifting enemies around, area affect stuff and debuffs.
Shaman (PHB1) - Heals with nature magic. Has a spirit companion.
Artificer (Eberron) - Heals with infusions (magic potions). Good at alchemy and item related things.

Each one has it's strengths and weaknesses. You also have the options of Druid and Paladin if you want someone with somewhat of a secondary healer role.

What sort of character were you thinking to make?

Dakaran
2010-11-22, 10:47 AM
What sort of character were you thinking to make?