PDA

View Full Version : Solo Campaign Assistance

Merellis
2010-12-07, 12:02 PM
So, starting a campaign with my wife. She's new to the game, we're playing 3.5 as that is all I have. Core, Completes, MIC, Dragon Magic, SpC.

We both have hectic schedules, so planning a weekly thing with others is not an option so we're going solo for it.

I'm kinda new to DMing, and she's intent on playing a Dragon Shaman.

Would a DMPC be a viable option? Or should I look further into it to get a solo campaign that will have her with NPC's at times?

So far the best thing I did was give her NPC starting gold instead of the PC start, so she's got 900gp to spend on items, and I'm heling her look through feats so she can enjoy the character.

Any ideas Playground?

Vladislav
2010-12-07, 12:04 PM
A DMPC is more likely to bore her then help. If you want to give the sole PC more staying power, give her a free animal companion she can control. A large dog or a wolf.

kestrel404
2010-12-07, 12:05 PM
Let her play more than 1 character for combat scenarios while you play monsters (kind of like really complicated chess). Give her creative freedom with the plot (get her to act out not just her own part, but other NPCs as well, so that you're not controlling EVERYTHING else, get her input on where she wants things to go, etc.). Have fun with it. Tell a story together.

Lord Vampyre
2010-12-07, 12:16 PM
Personally, a DMPC is really a glorified NPC, and yes running a DMPC is a viable option with this size of a group. The one thing you want to be careful of is railroading with a DMPC. The DMPC needs to fill the role of supporting cast, it becomes really easy to force a storyline upon a player when the DMPC takes away their other options.