PDA

View Full Version : Do doppelgangers Take the shape of equipment?

eclipsestorm
2011-01-01, 01:22 AM
Or rather, When they steal the shape of someone, can they also mimic the characters equipment? Clothes, weapons, stuff like that. And can they also use spells? Or at the very least throw their voice?

Xyk
2011-01-01, 01:59 AM
"Shape of...A BUCKET OF WATER!"

But seriously, it doesn't specify anywhere. My best guess is a "yes", because of the picture of them in Races of Destiny. I'd ask your DM for specific instances.

eclipsestorm
2011-01-01, 02:05 AM
Yea, in this case, im the dm, our whole group takes turns and its my first try

Xyk
2011-01-01, 02:08 AM
I'd have it replicate everything but magic items if I were you. But really, it's up to you.

KillianHawkeye
2011-01-01, 07:58 AM
I think clothing is fine but equipment is too far. Think of Mystique from X-Men or the T-1000 from Terminator 2.

Lord Loss
2011-01-01, 08:20 AM
I'd have it replicate everything, but magic items wouldn't have any special effects. They'd still read as magic if Detect Magic was cast on them, but the Doppleganger wouldn't be able to use their effects. As XyK said, though, it's really up to the DM. If you're using this for a monster, I'd say "whatever suits the plot best" would be your best bet.

umbrapolaris
2011-01-01, 10:00 AM
i think they can replicate the appearance of any items wore by the original but none of the magical abilities unless they are spellcasters and uses some spells to replicate the item power.

Mastikator
2011-01-01, 11:04 AM
I'd say they replicate everything that is mundane.

Traab
2011-01-01, 11:21 AM
I think clothing is fine but equipment is too far. Think of Mystique from X-Men or the T-1000 from Terminator 2.