View Full Version : Zombie Dragons and Full attacks

2011-01-03, 02:42 PM
The Zombie Dragon template gives Zombie Dragons the slow extraordinary ability which forces them to take only one more or standard action each round. The statblock for the sample Zombie Dragon however, has an entry for a full-attack. Whats the deal there? can a Zombie Dragon make a full attack?

2011-01-03, 02:44 PM
Maybe it's for if you cast haste on a slow dragon, giving it normal speed?

2011-01-03, 02:48 PM
It certainly wouldnt be the first misprinting in a monster stat block.

2011-01-03, 03:13 PM
Alright haha, just wanted to make sure there wasn't some secret information i was missing out on.

Shhalahr Windrider
2011-01-03, 03:16 PM
Don’t have the necessary book, but how many attacks are actually listed in the Full Attack? If more than one, are they all linked with an “and” or by an “or”?

If there is only one attack or if there are multiples linked only by “or,” then it’s just the writer slavishly following the stat-block format, like they did for normal zombies.

Otherwise, yeah, misprint. The template rules would trump the example entry.

2011-01-03, 03:27 PM
Wouldn't a zombie dragon actually be capable of taking a full-attack action seeing as how the 'slow' ability only says that the dragon can only perform a single standard or move action per turn while the description of a full-round action states that A full-round action requires an entire round to complete. Thus, it can’t be coupled with a standard or a move action, though if it does not involve moving any distance, you can take a 5-foot step. It doesn't say anything about the creature having to be capable to take both an attack and a move action in the same turn.

2011-01-03, 03:27 PM
It's in the Draconomicon.

The stat block list the full attack as: A bite, AND two claws, AND two wings.

2011-01-03, 03:38 PM
1.Its for completeness sake, probably.

2.There are quite a few ways to give something pounce, a few of which are available in item form, although I'm not sure if a zombie is allowed a swift action.

3.There are ways to grant a creature additional actions, and all he needs is a move action to be able to full attack. Again, probably going to require access to a swift action though.