PDA

View Full Version : Need help building a castle ruin

Xiander
2011-01-15, 09:05 AM
I am planning an adventure which is to centre around an old castle ruin sunken into the ground with magic. I have a fair idea about what kind of encounters i want to make and i think i am able to balance them. However, i have limited experience with dming D&D (I have a lot of dm experience in other systems and I have a strong working knowledge of D&Ds system).

The clincher is that this is the first time I construct a large dungeon from scratch, ad apart from some loose ideas i really donīt know which considerations to make.

About the castle:
I am using the Diamond Throne setting, as described in the book arcana evolved.
The castle in question lies in the capital of Verdune. Verdune was a great military kingdom which boasted strong warriors and waged a continous war against Thartolan a kingdom of many strong mages. 1600 years ago the country was invaded by the Dramojh, a race of demonic dragon beeings who slaughtered almost everything living in the land and flooded it with necrotic energies raising many as undead. (this far i have been sticking to the setting as written, hereon out I start comming up with my own stuff.)
Filling out the Details of the details of the Dramohj invation i decided that as the wa was going badly, it would make sense for the Verdunians to make their last stand within their strongest fortress, which logically was located within the capitol city. However the Dramohj had no reason to play fair, so instead they used a lot of powerful magic to sink the fortress into the ground stranding the strongest warriors of Verdune in a large hole in the ground, leaving them to starve to death or be slaughtered in their attempt to escape.

Now, 1600 years later, the Dramohj are gone and all that is left is the ruined castle at the bottom of a cliff filled with undead soldiers and giant vermin.

About the players: