PDA

View Full Version : PbP games suggestions on how to play them?

profitofrage
2011-02-04, 08:38 AM
Ok im new to the PbP system, but ive ran many games before. Now heres my issue. Im running a Dark Heresy game, and this system is meant to be used with minitures. Being sci fi most of the combat involves measuring ranges of weapons and seeing who is and is not out of cover. How can i expect my squishy players (only level 2) to be able to use cover / tactics if they cannot see where they are in relation to the enemies. I Can describe where they are and whats occuring..but in the end no matter how well i describe it it will always be abstract...or worse breaks into me listing out bullet points on how far away something is..whats the in the way..e.t.c e.t.c
How does the playground usually get around this sort of thing?
Is there any free online software that can easily make battle maps or the like?

true_shinken
2011-02-04, 09:00 AM
Draw a map and post it online.

Jair Barik
2011-02-04, 09:03 AM
Also make sure you use a labelled grid placed over the map to allow the players to give clear indications of where they move and to make measuring distance easy.

profitofrage
2011-02-04, 09:20 AM
Thats all well and good, but is there anything more static? or reliable. rather then depending on my poor drawing.

Voldecanter
2011-02-04, 09:31 AM
Just write the map out with Microsoft excel.....upload to google docs.....then post a link to the PbP, make sure that everyone can edit and view the linked material, that should solve your problem.

profitofrage
2011-02-04, 09:32 AM
Write the map out in excel? i was unaware you could draw in excel...let alone get those squares in it to turn to squares without manually setting each of them.

Eldan
2011-02-04, 09:34 AM
The setting to squares isn't that hard: highlight all cells, then set cell width and height to the same number.