PDA

View Full Version : 4e ways to increase attack rolls as wizard

malachi
2011-02-10, 01:00 PM
I'm new to 4e, and feel like I'm not hitting all that often.
I'm playing a lvl 1 Eladrin wizard (shortly to reach lvl 2). I have 18 int (16 + 2 from racial bonus).
My powers are: thunderwave, phantasmal assault, orbmaster's incendiary detonation, sleep, and the sustainable fire orb from PHB 1. In our last encounter, I ended up hitting less than a third of the time (thunderwaves that targets multiple minions).
How can I increase my chance to hit things (short of magic items)?

As far as I know, the only things that affect my attack rolls are my intelligence and any enhancement bonus from magical implements. And maybe some feats somewhere, but I feel that I might be missing something important (similar to martial classes' proficiency bonus with weapons).

Kurald Galain
2011-02-10, 01:03 PM
Your best bet is to take Enlarge Spell and simply make more attack rolls. If you make four attacks per turn, and half of them hit, you're still being highly effective.

Sipex
2011-02-10, 01:06 PM
You could look up the Implement Expertise feat from the PHB2 which gives +1 to all attack rolls made with your implement of choice.

edit: Also, save up your cash for a +1 version of your implement, 360gp. Your DM might include this in his treasure but you never know.

Also try swapping up what defense you attack. Having trouble hitting their FORT defense? Swap to REF.

In addition, pick up powers which attack WILL, nearly everything has lower WILL.

You can, by raw, make knowledge checks on enemies to find out their defenses too if the DM is okay with this, the DC is relatively high though.

malachi
2011-02-10, 01:21 PM