PDA

View Full Version : Jungle Themed Campaign

DMDauntless
2011-02-19, 03:12 PM
Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to D&D having only played Keep on the Shadowfell with my brothers, but when that campaign ended I was totally pumped to be the DM of a new campaign of my design. I'm pretty familiar with most of the rules, and I have alot of ideas for encounters and some story lines, but I need some input from seasoned players and DMs. I looked at different websites to post on, but I love OOTS n never realized it had this much activity, so I'm going to hunker down here.

Anyways so I've already played 1 encounter with the group and will hopefully playing another one in a week. I have a general direction for the start, but I want to make it even better. The players start at lvl 2, but I'm hoping, since they are siblings and close friends, that we can make it to at least lvl 15 - 20 if not further.

My campaign takes place in the jungle, called the Jungle of Fears (I'm totally new to this) because of the dangerous animals and monsters that inhabit it. The players have arrived in the trade city of Crucible which lies on the river Mistfall and will be using it as their base for the foreseeable future.

Their first task was to retrieve several lumberjacks and the magical wood they were harvesting from the edge of the forest, but when they arrived the lumberjacks were dead. After looking around, they were attacked by a group of drakes set to tear them apart. They defeated them and took their skins and claws back to the city to sell them to the merchants in town.