PDA

View Full Version : Ice Dungeon

Otacon17
2011-03-07, 12:58 AM
Hello, playgrounders. For the Pathfinder campaign I'm running, I'm trying to set up a dungeon in the arctic. I'm a rookie when it comes to GMing, so up until now I've been scared to do anything really complex in a dungeon (generally sticking to the traditional setup of "you enter the room. There are monsters!"), but I'd like to change that. I want this dungeon to be focused more on puzzles and obstacles rather than combat.

Story-wise, the dungeon is the lair of an ice-spell-casting wolf-man with a magical eye (based on Free from the manga/anime Soul Eater) who has teamed up with a bunch of evil witches intent on world domination. The wolf-man already knows the party is coming and, via his magical eye, will be able to monitor them somewhat as they progress through his lair.

Anyway, like I said, I'm not really used to doing this kind of thing, so I'd be eternally grateful if anyone had suggestions for ice-based traps/obstacles/other interesting tomfoolery. Some rough ideas I have so far include:
-The traditional giant-icicles-falling-from-the-ceiling thing
-A large frozen lake, which the PCs will have to cross carefully, lest the ice crack and drop them into the icy waters. Alternately, once the ice has cracked, some kind of underwater beast emerges from the water and the PCs must battle it while floating around on small chunks of ice adrift in the lake
-A room consisting of slippery, icy walkways, which the PCs will have to be careful not to slide off of; however, I'd need something to spice up this room, or else it would just be inconvenient rather than interesting...

Thanks in advance :smallsmile:

RTGoodman
2011-03-07, 01:12 AM
If you can get a copy, the Frostburn supplement is one of the better sourcebooks from 3.5/d20. It's all about some frosty adventures and has a LOT of stuff that you might need: creatures, feats, spells, traps, and other stuff.

The Sauceror
2011-03-07, 01:27 AM