PDA

View Full Version : nWoD Hunter Help [My players keep away]

Morty
2011-03-11, 12:36 PM
I'm planning on running a Hunter: The Vigil game for a couple of people in near future. However, I have little experience GMing and no experience whatsoever GMing World of Darkness - I've only played in a relatively short Hunter chronicle. Thus, I'm asking for advice.
The game will be a Tier 1 story. The characters will belong to the same hunter cell in a moderately sized Polish town. The threat they'll be up against will be an arrogant mage who estabilished a sect with help of his magic. As I don't own any Mage: The Awakening books, I'll stat him using the Dread Powers section of the Hunter rulebook. It'll be the PCs' job to stop him the way they see fit.
The characters aren't fully ready yet, but I know the cell will contain a martial artist with criminal background, a very good-looking female singer and an occultist of some sort. The fourth character may or may not appear and I don't know who he or she will be.
My biggest problem right now is statting out the main antagonist - I'm not sure what his powers should be. But any other general tips would be greately appreciated.

Talyn
2011-03-20, 07:48 AM
Well, Mages can really, really make life difficult for Hunters (especially Tier 1 hunters) because they can cheat - reality does not necessarily apply to them.

So, a good Hunter antagonist needs a few things:
1) a hook, a reason why the cell is going to trip over them (example: one of the hunters has an older sister with a young kid, the mage wants to kidnap/brainwash the kid into become Awakened)
2) something subtly wrong with them that the hunters can notice right away (example: pupils are different colors, or change color)
3) powers the Hunters can't explain (he's a mage, this one should be easy)
4) a reason why he can't just squish the Hunter cell as soon as he notices them
5) a plan, with multiple stages, which the Hunters can discover and thwart