PDA

View Full Version : TDE - The Dark Eye (German System)

Ellye
2011-03-16, 11:44 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Dark_Eye

Has anyone here read or played this system? I didn't knew about it until recently, when I started playing Drakensang: The River of Time, a computer RPG that uses it.

From the wikipedia description and from my experience in said computer game, it seems like a decent system with a pretty interesting, if cliche, game world.

DeltaEmil
2011-03-16, 11:56 AM
It's a nice quaint if average setting. The rules on the other hand have taken a sharp turn towards far more complicated and unnecessary details since TDE went 4th edition. It's like they tried to combine Shadowrun, Rulemaster and D&D 3rd edition at once in a non-intuitive way. You'll have to look at an xp-chart all the time if you want to increase any stats, the rules aren't balanced even amongst "professions" of the same type, magic-users rule, alll others without magical or divine powers drool, and the skill system is of course the "roll 3d20, compare each roll with the appropriate attribute, how many points are still left at the end".

However, that does not mean that the game is unplayable. You just have to be prepared for the increased complexity, and know that the rules are wedged together with the game setting.

Zombimode
2011-03-16, 12:30 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Dark_Eye

Has anyone here read or played this system? I didn't knew about it until recently, when I started playing Drakensang: The River of Time, a computer RPG that uses it.

From the wikipedia description and from my experience in said computer game, it seems like a decent system with a pretty interesting, if cliche, game world.

Also, dont take the Drakensang series as an accrurate representation of the setting.

But it depends on what you mean with "cliche".
If you mean "stereotyped", thats a "feature" of the Drakensang series, not of the setting per se.