PDA

View Full Version : Building an Insane Character

Jewel Thief
2011-03-17, 11:53 AM
I'm a DM by trade, but my friend wants a shot at the big money. So I have to build a character - meh! And halp!

I want to build a crazy character, a sado-masochist who likes pain. What are some good classes for crazy people? I'm thinking she'll be more of a rogue or sorcerer.

JT

Sacrieur
2011-03-17, 12:03 PM
Warlock? Warlocks can be pretty crazy.

Kuma Kode
2011-03-17, 12:10 PM
Any class can be crazy, but I do second warlock. They have a special kind of crazy.

gbprime
2011-03-17, 12:25 PM
I'm playing an insane cleric at the moment. Dream domain spells are a great fit, and the immunity to Fear domain ability allows him to act absolutely un-right in the head at times.

Nachtritter
2011-03-17, 12:29 PM
Seconding the crazy cleric idea. You hurt yourself to bring glory and praise to your DARK ELDRITCH GOD.

kestrel404
2011-03-17, 12:31 PM
You've got lots and lots of options. While any base class can do well for 'insane', there are several that can pull it off really spectacularly.

Rogue is a poor choice, because 'crazy rogue' generally equates to 'caught, imprisoned and dead rogue' fairly quickly. Even if they're just a masochist, Rogues in D&D don't generally survive long if they stick around to gloat.

Sorceror is a much better option, especially with the correct spell selection, but we can do much better.

Cleric, with the correct God backing them, make for truly terrifying crazies. When the voices in your head don't just tell you to kill people but also give you the ability to shoot lasers and summon monsters, it means you're listening to the right voices.

A Paladin of Slaughter (CE paladin) on the other hand is probably a little TOO crazy, unless doing wicked deeds is going to be the focus of the game.

Warlock, as has been stated, makes for a really nice 'evil villain' kind of crazy, but really requires quite a bit of optimization to do properly.