PDA

View Full Version : Monsters?

LOTRfan
2011-04-03, 06:05 PM
I'm new to 4e, and keep in mind that I have been playing 3.5e the entire time I've played D&D.

I'm looking through the monsters, and my first reaction is: how the heck do you homebrew monsters? I haven't the slightest clue as to how you create your own (I realize you can just refluff, but work with me here).

Is there a formula I'm missing in the MM? Is it in the DMG?

I realize there is a monster builder on the WotC site, but I'm looking to be able to create my own monsters for free, like in 3.5e. Is it possible?

Surrealistik
2011-04-03, 06:07 PM
I'm new to 4e, and keep in mind that I have been playing 3.5e the entire time I've played D&D.

I'm looking through the monsters, and my first reaction is: how the heck do you homebrew monsters? I haven't the slightest clue as to how you create your own (I realize you can just refluff, but work with me here).

I realize there is a monster builder on the WotC site, but I'm looking to be able to create my own monsters for free, like in 3.5e. Is it possible?

Monster Maker from the offline Adventure Tools 'suite' WotC produced is the definitive resource for homebrewing monsters, otherwise you'll have to resort to the guidelines in DMG 2? Don't recall.

LOTRfan
2011-04-03, 06:11 PM
I see. My friend has the DMG 2, I'll have to ask if I can borrow that. Thank you.

theNater
2011-04-03, 09:16 PM

It sounds like you're looking for page 184 of the DMG.

LOTRfan
2011-04-03, 09:44 PM
Another question: It seems that in this edition, creatures described as "mindless" still have intelligence scores much higher than their 3.5e counterparts.

Do all creatures have all ability scores, now?

mobdrazhar
2011-04-03, 09:54 PM
they do all have a score in all stats.

All undead have a Con Score, as do constructs

Mando Knight
2011-04-03, 09:57 PM
Do all creatures have all ability scores, now?