PDA

View Full Version : [Pathfinder] Joining a new group, what to play?

Devorum
2011-04-20, 11:00 AM
I'm joining a new group soon, and trying to make up my mind on a character. They are a small group, with the following roles filled:

Tank (Shielded Fighter)
Striker (Monk)
Heal/? (Cleric/Gunslinger)

I was thinking of filling them out with a controller, but can't decide between Wizard and Sorcerer. Wizards get the bonus of utility, but the Sorc bloodlines are looking awesome, and actually makes it a viable option (I hated sorcs in 3.x). I have no experience with sorcerers, though, so am looking for input on good bloodlines and such. I've read Minstrel's guide, but it doesn't include APG material.

I want to focus on control, summoning, and buffing.

My other plan is to just blow off filling the last role, and making a dapper Half Orc Alchemist named Reginald Danwater Pilkington IV, with his Orcy side coming out while under the effects of his mutagens. Of course, Master Chymist would be the goal.

LansXero
2011-04-20, 11:26 AM
Id say go with alchemist; you got a lot of melee types (well, the gunsliger doesnt count, but guns and bombs should go well together, right?) so extracts and potions and buffs should make you popular.

Duncan_Ruadrik
2011-04-20, 12:05 PM
I know this isnt what you want to play.... but it does look like your party could use a rogue, and tactically, I find them the most fun to play.

subject42
2011-04-20, 12:52 PM
Pathfinder Sorcerers are an absolute blast to play.

I'm rather partial to the Aberrant bloodline, but the best bloodline for summoning/buffing would probably be Abyssal for the bloodline arcana and the 15th level power.

ProfMoriarty
2011-04-20, 02:02 PM
I want to focus on control, summoning, and buffing.