PDA

View Full Version : How hard are these non-core classes to lear for new players?

Calintares
2011-04-20, 01:28 PM
I'm wondering about introducing Warmage, Favored Soul, Spirit Shaman, Crusader, Swordsage and Warblade from the get-go for a group of players new to D&D.

How hard are they to learn compared to the core classes?

Tvtyrant
2011-04-20, 01:31 PM
Warmage is the easiest on the list, but the others are all easier then a Druid. If the DM understands them he/she can explain it pretty easily.

Thrice Dead Cat
2011-04-20, 01:33 PM
Favored Soul is about as hard as a sorcerer to learn, being the divine equivalent. Assuming "Wilding Shaman," is "Spirit Shaman," it's about as hard as a cleric to learn. Crusader, Swordsage, and Warblade, however, are all super easy to learn and hard to screw up, giving them easy out-of-the-box play.

Keld Denar
Me and one other guy taught ToB to a bunch of near total newbies in about one game session. We had a Warblade, a Crusader, and a Swordsage in the group, and it was fairly simply to go through how the maneuvers work and how they are used and recovered. We were using maneuver cards and PCs that the DM had already made, though, which REALLY helped a lot. Once the players understood the system, they were able to level their characters up.

Warmage and Favored Soul are silly easy to learn. Warmage just picks crap off his list and makes it happen. Very little thought required beyond learning what everything on your list does. Kinda like playing a Sorcerer with a bigger pool of very specialized spells known. Favored Soul is what happens when a Cleric and a Sorcerer love each other very much, and 9 months later a spontaneous cleric is born. Simply simple.

Probably the hardest system to teach is Incarnum, and even that's not hard to teach how to USE, but is a bit more complicated to learn how to build.

Aemoh87