PDA

View Full Version : Ability scores. How does get?

SlashRunner
2011-04-22, 12:04 PM
I am very new to D&D, and most of my game-related knowledge comes from the SRD. However, I have never found anything relating to how you increase your ability scores. From a response on a previous thread, I found that you get an increase in abilities every 4 levels. How much do they increase?

HalfDragonCube
2011-04-22, 12:07 PM
I am very new to D&D, and most of my game-related knowledge comes from the SRD. However, I have never found anything relating to how you increase your ability scores. From a response on a previous thread, I found that you get an increase in abilities every 4 levels. How much do they increase?

One ability score of your choice increases by one every four levels. You choose which to increase each time.

AsteriskAmp
2011-04-22, 12:07 PM
It's on the PHB if I'm not wrong.

Drglenn
2011-04-22, 12:09 PM
You get +1 to one ability score every 4th level.

There are also magic items which can give you a boost as long as you wear them

There are also magic tomes that give you a permanent boost when you read them, these stack with the other items

Callista
2011-04-22, 12:15 PM
Don't forget spells. For example, if your party cleric casts Bull's Strength on the party fighter, then the fighter gets a +4 to strength (which doesn't stack with magic items, but is available a lot earlier than a +4 strength item).

Are you playing with an experienced group? Should be easier for you to learn if you just observe and see how it works in practice.

The Cat Goddess
2011-04-22, 12:41 PM

To combine everything said...

At levels 4, 8, 12, 16 & 20 you gain a +1 Bonus that can be applied to any one stat. This gives you a total of +5. Most people put all their bonus on their "main" stat (Str for Fighters & Barbarian, Int for Wizards, Cha for Sorcerers, etc.). If you have an odd numbered Dex or Con, you might put a point there, depending on your character.