PDA

View Full Version : VoP Halp!

Etrivar
2011-04-29, 10:02 PM
Hullo Playgrounders!

A long while ago I started brewing up a VoP fix. Most of this fix was focused on addressing what is widely viewed as the primary problem with the VoP: utter lack of flexibility. You are given certain benefits at certain levels, and if you don't need them, well...tough.

With this in mind, I began to make a list of abilities that you could choose from at certain levels, thereby allowing you to tailor what you get to your specific needs. But, I stopped shortly after beginning, due to lack of time. However, I have been re-inspired to complete the project by Thurbane's thread on a VoP party.

Only one problem: brewer's-block. I know that I plan to break the abilities up into four tiers, tier 4 being the weakest and available immediately, with tier 3 being available at level 6, tier 2 at level 11, and tier 1 at level 16. I plan on leaving the bonuses and abilities already granted in place, and simply adding this.

So: Please help me make a list. What abilities would you like to see a VoP character be able to choose? What are the abilities provided by magic items that a VoP character so desperately needs? I have a basic list here too which we can add and off of which we can build:

Flight
Class ability augmentation
Boosting a specific skill
Immunity to (exhaustion, negative energy, etc)

I'm also debating creating a similar system for the weapons wielded by VoP characters, working it sorta like a soul-knife so that you can actually have a decent weapon with which to work. any suggestions for exalted-themed weapon abilities would be welcome as well.

P.S. Before someone talks about how you could never make the list complete enough to offset not having magic items, that is the great part about this system! It provides a preexisting structure into which you can simply insert your own abilities for your unique need. You just have to be willing to work with your DM and use your imagination.