PDA

View Full Version : Play-by-post: What do I need to know?

Mr. Zolrane
2011-04-29, 11:08 PM
Just what the thread title says. I'm looking to DM a PbP game this summer, but I have no experience with PbP, and I was wondering if any veterans of that mode of play can tell me what tools I should have, what's different from normal PnP DnD, and what the general way of going about things as a PbP DM is. I know these are rather vague questions, but hopefully someone can help.

Bang!
2011-04-29, 11:28 PM
People flake fast.

The-Mage-King
2011-04-30, 12:03 AM
Link to guide. (http://www.giantitp.com/forums/showthread.php?t=181299)

I suggest that you make use of Google Docs spread sheet for your map- here's a link (https://spreadsheets.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?authkey=CNrLtpoC&hl=en&key=t6mhafjGZY207WPzC0S26wg&hl=en&authkey=CNrLtpoC#) to one that I'm currently using for a pokemon tabletop game.

Saintheart
2011-04-30, 01:27 AM
Only comment to really add is that once you figure out how it works, MapTools is a gorgeous timesaving map resource for PbP -- I think personally even better than it does for online sessions. They've even inbuilt the grid references on the latest versions, so for your mapping needs you don't even have to go to MS Paint or Excel anymore (as I used to).

The basic difference to PnP is, as said, flakeouts are harder to identify and harder to get around. I think in IT terms you could describe PbP processing as serial whereas PnP is parallel; it can take weeks for a couple of rounds of combat to play out if you don't set some groundrules for posting limits during combat.

Outside combat the rules can be laxer, but within combat, posting silences are death.