PDA

View Full Version : Psionics? (3.5)

BIGMamaSloth
2011-05-01, 09:42 PM
I had a few questions about psionics as I've never used them or read there rules before. I was intrigued by them because the fluff sounded cool but was told by my group that the system was really complicated and hard to learn and pretty much ends up being spells under another name. Is this true? what books should I get if I wanted to use psionics?

Wings of Peace
2011-05-01, 09:46 PM
I had a few questions about psionics as I've never used them or read there rules before. I was intrigued by them because the fluff sounded cool but was told by my group that the system was really complicated and hard to learn and pretty much ends up being spells under another name. Is this true? what books should I get if I wanted to use psionics?

It's not that complicated, if anything I personally find it simpler since it's a point based system. As for whether or not it's just magic under a different name, anything that alters reality is basically magic it doesn't mean it's not cool.

under_score
2011-05-01, 09:50 PM
Honestly, psionics isn't that complicated. Especially if you've spent anytime playing video games with magic. Your power point reserve (that which fuels your powers), is basically a bunch of mana.

While many powers are basically psionic versions of certain spells (and so named), there are enough different and interesting powers (like time hop) and some fantastically potent powers (like hyper cognition) to make psionics quite worth while. Also, some powers are simply better than the magic equivalents (dominate, I believe, is one of these). Many powers are more versatile than your average spell, which helps account for the limited number you can learn (and there is also a rule that enables you to research new powers). Since you can augment your powers (spend more power points on them to make them better), the low-mid powers are often some of the best.