PDA

View Full Version : Alternate Familiars

roadkiller
2006-07-23, 09:18 PM
I just want to know what you guys can come up with for familiars that haven't been made already. I'm making a sorcerer but none of the basic familiars fit in and I'm not going to go out and buy splatbooks just to get tidbits (my DM judges what gets into the game from splatbooks on a individual basis). I'm not really good at these sort of things and I know that at least some of you out there can make something in five minutes if you try.

Just for some ideas to throw out there for you:
Skink
Iguana
Ferret
Pigeon/Dove (Yes, they are the same thing)
Raccoon

I've only got the 3.0 Player's Handbook and Tome and Blood to go off of, so sorry it they've been done before.

Toliudar
2006-07-23, 09:32 PM
How about:

Raccoon (+3 to sleight of hand?)
Flying Squirrel (+3 to balance?)
Peacock (+3 to perform checks?)
Duck
Toy Poodle (as cat, but swap out claw attacks and add scent ability)
Parrot (as raven)

broderickdruce
2006-07-23, 09:43 PM
Hamster!

RoboticSheeple
2006-07-23, 09:43 PM
half of those animals you listed are normal familars... So I'm confused, what is it you want?

Artisan
2006-07-23, 09:47 PM
Skink - +3 to swim checks?
Iguana - Count as lizard
Ferret - Count as Weasel
Dove - +3 to Diplomacy checks?
Raccoon - +3 to Move Silently checks?

and now, for one I want...

Tortoise - +2 to Will Saves

DMgrinder
2006-07-23, 10:52 PM
I love the tortoise. "Sick 'em Speedy!"

Artisan
2006-07-23, 11:04 PM
I love the tortoise. "Sick 'em Speedy!"

No way!...call him 'Lightning'!

roadkiller
2006-07-23, 11:04 PM
half of those animals you listed are normal familars... So I'm confused, what is it you want?

I'm running on 3.0 and, yes, while I overlooked the weasel/ferret thing, none of the other things are normal familiars. 3.0 doesn't have the lizard listed, so I've got no clue about what that is.

I just want ideas for other familiars that haven't been made already.

Steward
2006-07-23, 11:12 PM