PDA

View Full Version : D&D Edition Comparisons (Project)

Woodzyowl
2011-05-12, 05:48 PM
So I need to get some feedback on the strong points and weak points of the editions of D&D (Namely, AD&D 1&2 and D&D 3.0/5). I have only ever played 3.5 and 4.0 before, but I consider 4.0 to not even be D&D (no arguments about this please) so it will not be included in said project.

Janus
2011-05-12, 05:50 PM
I've only really played 3.5 and 4e, so I can't give any personal anecdotes, but Wikipedia gives a decent list of the changes in each edition. Hope it helps:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Editions_of_Dungeons_%26_Dragons

dsmiles
2011-05-12, 05:57 PM
I have lots of experience with all editions, and I need to warn you: This will end badly.

Woodzyowl
2011-05-12, 06:08 PM
I have lots of experience with all editions, and I need to warn you: This will end badly.

Hopefully it will give me some insight into the strong and weak points though. It would be nice if people would hold to their opinions instead of criticizing others, but I can only control what people say oh so much.

Gamer Girl
2011-05-12, 06:19 PM
0E/1E--Very, very, very few rules. Basically a DM had to make up about 75% of the rules of the game.

2E--Lots more rules to cover things, but still left a good 50% of the game vague and un-ruled.

3E--Rules for nearly everything and everything is nicely quantified. DM's are expected to only make up about 10% of the rules, as long as they follow the Core Rules.

4E--Even more rules for everything and everything is set in stone. A DM is expected to make up 0% of the rules.

Jude_H
2011-05-12, 06:19 PM
Basic is optimal for excluding gnomes.
AD&D is the best for bards that make your head hurt just thinking about.
2e is optimal as far as SICK TABLES are concerned.
3e is the paragon of day-long char-gen.
3.5 is optimal for being pretty much the same thing, but in hardback.
4e is ideal for inciting sweet edition snobbery.

I hope that helps! :smalltongue:

Chambers