PDA

View Full Version : Character creation as simulation: does anyone do that any more?

HeadlessMermaid
2011-05-14, 11:26 AM
Note: My experience with this if from D&D, but I suppose that it applies to all RPGs with mental and physical stats.

Many years ago, when I started playing, character creation usually happened like this: The player would say something like "I imagine a wizard who is very smart, but gets distracted easily and his eyesight is a bit poor from years of reading. He likes to share what he knows and he's a good teacher, talkative and quite charming. He is moderately dexterous and not completely weak, but he has poor health, he coughs all the time and gets tired easily."

And from there, he'd proceed assigning stats. In the above case, he would say: "So, we have INT > CHA > DEX > STR > WIS > CON."

In short, players could very well choose to assign stats "the wrong way", having a mental image of their character in mind and trying to represent it mechanically. The method was simulation. Key word: "imagine".

Nowadays, I don't see that happen a lot, and I don't do it myself a lot (if at all). Instead, the norm is something like this:

"I'm taking a wizard, so I have INT > CON > DEX > WIS > CHA > STR. Therefore, my wizard is very smart, healthy and sturdy, quite dexterous, somewhat perspective, hardly charismatic, and very weak."

In short, players pick stats first, addressing mechanical concerns, and from there proceed to interpret these numbers as their character's strengths and weaknesses. The method isn't simulation any more, it's... I don't know how to call it, really. I hesitate to call it "optimization", because I'm not talking about fancy stuff here, I'm talking about very basic things, as in "thou shall not dump Constitution."