PDA

View Full Version : "Hollow World" campaign setting help

Yuki Akuma
2011-06-13, 11:31 AM
So. I'm writing a campaign setting. Things are a little vague right now, but there's something I need some help on.

Basically, the world is a planet, with the same mean density as Earth - so it has a gravity of around 1g. However, instead of having a liquid iron core, it has a follow air-filled core. This means that it doesn't have a magnetic field - or at least a far weaker one.

I have a question about the physics of the core. If one were inside the core, near the 'surface', which way would gravity 'pull'? 'Up', towards the surface, or 'down', towards the center of the planet? And if they were at the center, would they be crushed or weightless?

And yes I am aware I can make gravity behave however the heck I want, but I'd like the planet to be physically possible before I add in magic to tweak things.

Kol Korran
2011-06-13, 11:37 AM
i am no expert in physics, but i know some people who did the 'hollow world' angle declared the gravitational center is actually at the crust/ mantle/ surrounding layer. so if you were on the inside, you would walk on the inner surface, being pulled to it. the guys were physics students, and they tried to explain how it might be possible somehow, but my "it's physics! run away!" mind shut it out.

i remember something about it being made from a different material, and something about velocity...

not much help, but i hope it's some help.
good luck to ya!

Tengu_temp
2011-06-13, 11:42 AM
If you're inside a hollow sphere, you're not affected by its gravity. Everything inside the core is weightless.

Also, a planet with an air-filled core is not really physically possible anyway.

Eldan
2011-06-13, 11:43 AM
I don't know about hollow planets, specifically, but rotating rings, at least, have their "gravity" pulling outwards, as on spaceships. Though that isn't from mass. Dyson spheres/Ringworlds too, from what I remember.

hamlet