PDA

View Full Version : How do you get back into D&D?

Aesshen
2011-06-20, 05:41 PM
So this may strike some of you as kind of a depressing story, but I'd appreciate some advice. I found my uncle's old D&D books - we're talking first edition here - in a closet in my grandparents' house when I was 8, and was immediately hooked. I spent glorious hours rolling up overpowered Mary Sue characters and reading the fluff in the old modules, but of course I had no one to play with at that age. By middle school, though, I had obligingly geeky friends and a metric ton of 3E books, so I started playing regularly.

In high school, though, I became extremely dissatisfied with those friends and the way other people thought of me. I cut my hair, got contacts, started wearing makeup, and began a long, slow climb of the social ladder. And it worked, more or less, except that not for a moment did I stop wanting to play D&D - and watch anime, and read comic books, and everything else, but those were things I could do on my own where no one could see me. I wanted to join the D&D club my first year of high school, but it was all boys, and they were none too fragrant, and most of all I didn't want people to find out. I tried to go into a gaming store, but some people made fun of me in the elevator (geeks, I must add, who were apparently unhappy about my short skirt and my lip gloss) and I left without buying any books and never went back.

Now, though, I have a little bit more confidence in myself, and could probably admit to liking D&D to anyone who asked (although it isn't information I'd volunteer). I want to start playing again. How do you begin again when you have no friends who would be interested? I just want to find a group of nice, intelligent people who want an RPG-heavy game and don't mind my spotty understanding of the rules. Has anyone gone through anything similar? Really, any advice would be much appreciated.

An Enemy Spy
2011-06-20, 06:21 PM