PDA

View Full Version : Commander (Planar) Shepard

Acanous
2011-07-08, 06:12 AM
While browsing the forums, I've encountered several refferences to the Planar Shepard being something absolutely awesome, on par with an Initiate of the Sevenfold Veil or Incantatrix. Sadly, I've got no experience playing one, and would like to know exactly how one goes about optimizing this in such a way that it could singlehandedly end the reaper threat, save the citadel, and have the toughest decision of the day be which female NPC to romance.

So, anyone willing to explain this to me? :3

Heatwizard
2011-07-08, 06:30 AM
As I'm given to understand it(although I just looked it up now), it's basically Druid+. 10/10 spellcasting, levels count for Wildshape(and you get nastier shapes to boot), and you get this goofy planar bubble; pick a plane where time moves really fast and suddenly your turn turns into ten turns. Seems like it kind of optimizes itself.

Longcat
2011-07-08, 06:31 AM
You also get to wildshape into outsiders and use their abilities. Free Wish!

Acanous
2011-07-08, 06:55 AM
That does sound pretty awesome. Sadly, it is rare that I get the chance to play a Druid (They're outright banned in one of my gaming groups, and frowned upon in the other two, like clerics)
Is there any other way to get into the class? would Wildshape variant Ranger or Barbarian work?

Heatwizard
2011-07-08, 07:02 AM
You need eight ranks of Knowledge(nature) and four ranks of Knowledge (planes), Wild Shape as a class feature, and either Greensinger Initiate or Initiate of Nightbringers. (DM's choice)

This is Faiths of Eberron, p. 107, by the by.

Cog
2011-07-08, 07:05 AM
That does sound pretty awesome. Sadly, it is rare that I get the chance to play a Druid (They're outright banned in one of my gaming groups, and frowned upon in the other two, like clerics)
Is there any other way to get into the class? would Wildshape variant Ranger or Barbarian work?