PDA

View Full Version : Pathfinder Sword and Board

Vattic
2011-07-09, 07:10 PM
Hello everyone, I'm pretty new to pathfinder (I've played a sorcerer/rogue to level 7 and a switch hitting ranger from 7-11) and due to a recent character death I find myself considering my options.

The party really needs someone who can take a lot of damage, and also dish it out when need be. What I'm looking for are suggestions for an effective build. The thread title is, well, what it is, but Honestly I'm open to anything. I'd like to play a fighter who is an absolute beast in combat using sword and shield, but if there is some other class combo that can fulfill this role then I'd be more than happy to consider it.

A friend and a player in the game that I am in suggested a spirit of the beast (treantmonk) druid build, but in all honesty it doesn't appeal to me that much.

What we have to work with:

I can start at 11th level.
Stats are 4d6 drop lowest
Any core + Paizo supplements (no 3.0-3.5 material)
A full cleric of sarenrae (12th lvl)
A bard/barbarian gish (surprisingly effective and awesome)
An earth focused geomancer wizard

I'd like to stick with human, and basically optimize him out. The main issue for me is that I don't have a lot of free time to really noodle this build out, and I'd love for some of you folk who have dealt with this sort of thing to help me.

I'd be most grateful for any help that you could offer.

Thank you in advance for your time,

Vattic

MeeposFire
2011-07-09, 07:34 PM
Well if you do go sword and shield realize that the feat shield mastery is crazy good. It eliminates penalties to your attack roll with a shield while wielding another weapon (which could be anything including another spiked shield). These penalties would include two weapon fighting, the penalty from imp and greater two weapon fighting, and even power attack.