PDA

View Full Version : Wanting to DM a game, any tips?

Kjata
2011-07-13, 04:11 AM
So, I've always thought dming a game sounded like a lot of fun. However, i am new to roleplaying in general. Even though I've got a few people who said they are down, I am nervous. I want them to have fun, and not end up a horror story on the internet. I think I am socially graceful enough to not be a complete asshat, but I am inexperienced. So I want to know if this sounds appealing.

I am in the process of acquiring Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay 2ed, first of all is this a good system?

Second, I think that, story wise, I want the antagonists to be mostly Skaven. I figure due to the nature of the Underempire, no matter what race or nationality they want I can have skaven be present.

Basically, there will be reports of small skirmishes with the Skaven in the area, and rewards offered for the heads of skaven. If the party decides to go hunt Skaven, cool. If not, then whatever they are doing they will come into the ratmen somehow. Looting ruins? A band of gutter runners had the same idea. This will bring the point across that there is a skaven menace in the area.

Eventually, a local ruler's household will be attacked, leaving the lord and most of his family dead. His heir will call to arms everyone willing to help, as well as raise the reward.

Basically, the party is free to do what they will. I'll probably add some region specific villains and hooks, but they will probably involve Skaven in some way. Crazy wizard in a corner of the empire? He'll have a Skyre wizard supplying him with magical weaponry and soldiers crazy enough to use them.