PDA

View Full Version : [PF] Agitable Knight - Feasible character concept?

Zejety
2011-07-22, 05:35 AM
Hi!
I'm very new to D&D and 3.5-likes and still have a hard time evaluating the mechanical efficiency of characters.

I was browsing through the Pathfinder classes from the Core rules and APG looking for an interesting (mechanically and fluff-wise) multiclass combination.
What I came up with is a Cavalier with a few levels of Barbarian(Mounted Fury).

Fluff-wise, it would be a noble knight with a very short temper, think a nicer Gregor Clegane (from A Game of Throne). Noone says that Cavaliers have to be mannerly ^^

From an optimization standpoint, I expect the Mounted Fury and a few well-selected rage powers to complement the combat style of the Cavalier nicely. That extra 10 feet movement speed alone already sounds pretty solid.

Fluff-wise and mechanically, I also like the thought of a raging barbarian challenging someone to a duel. :smallsmile:

But before pursuing the concept in more detail, I want to receive some feedback on its feasibility.
Some more information: PF Core Rules and APG only
The group mostly consists of characters inspired by Treantmonk-style guides, but I don't expect them to be played and equipped in an optimized-manner.
I'm aware that the character will be severly hampered in places where he can't bring his mount. But that's a problem with the Cavalier in general, isn't it?
Please don't give too much advice on feats and other details, because after following a guide for my last character, I want this one to be "mine".

TLDR: Is Cavalier/Barbarian a sound concept?

Xiander
2011-07-22, 06:24 AM
First my view on the mechanics side.
If you are not playing in a group focused heavily on optimization, i expect you should have no problems, as long as you don't pick completely useless feats and rage powers.