PDA

View Full Version : D&D Monster and character tokens

Luzahn
2011-07-27, 11:59 AM
I'm just curious, what do people use to represent characters and monsters on a game board? I've only got a few pc figurines that came with an old starter 3.5 game, and was wondering where to find more.

Vandicus
2011-07-27, 12:00 PM
Its possible to buy more at some game stores and book stores. They aren't exactly cheap though. You can also use dice, food, legos, etc. instead of miniatures.

Malimar
2011-07-27, 03:17 PM
Years ago, before I started playing D&D, I always dreamed of putting my LEGO collection to use as D&D minis and terrain. Others have done this excellently. I never actually got around to it.

When I did start playing D&D, I bought D&D minis for awhile, until I noticed I was running out of money.

Then I started buying Mage Knight and Dreamblade minis for cheap from Troll and Toad, cutting them off their bases, and gluing them to new bases, as detailed here (http://luduscarcerum.blogspot.com/2011/06/adventures-in-rebasing.html) and here (http://luduscarcerum.blogspot.com/2011/06/adventures-in-rebasing-2-payoff.html).

Luzahn
2011-07-27, 06:48 PM
Ahh, i wondered that those were called, my friend had converted some of those.

Tvtyrant
2011-07-27, 06:52 PM
I always wanted to make the dungeons using lego sets, and have the players actually move through them. I am not really a lego person though, and that sounds...Expensive.

Luzahn
2011-07-27, 06:58 PM
Aw damn, I bought one of these random miniatures packs. Random things are fun, and now i want to buy more.

Delcor
2011-07-27, 07:01 PM
At Gen Con, they had a booth where you could get 5 minis for 4$ or something like that, it may have been even cheaper.