PDA

View Full Version : Good GM advice/tips/sights?

MunsterJujus
2011-07-27, 10:56 PM
I just recently got all the Monsters and other Childish Things books and am planning on making a quick one shot for people who co-host a radio show I do. The problem is I have never GM'ed before. I've been listening to podcasts and reading these forums for tips on how to GM but its just quicker and easier to ask.

Do y'all have any specific tips/advice for new GMs? also y'all know any good websites?

I'm kind nervous because 1) Its my first time GMing (redundant department of redundancy.) and 2) One of the guys loves RPGs, one is a fan but never like playing, and the other played and hated them.

Thanks for the help. If anyone needs more info on Monsters I can explain it to y'all.

DaragosKitsune
2011-07-27, 11:03 PM
Well, be flexible is my best advice. Players outnumber you and might come up with things you couldn't. Roll with good ideas.

GAThraawn
2011-07-27, 11:44 PM
1) Play to your strengths. I never plan out a session beforehand, and being a theatrical improviser, I can handle pretty much anything my players throw at me. Not everyone can GM off the cuff like that. Likewise, sometimes people plan everything down beforehand, and the session comes off like they're reading from a book, with no room to handle the player's innovations. Try and find a balance that you're comfortable with, and I'm sure you're aware of the truism that you'll never be able to anticipate everything that your players do, so try and give them as much leeway as possible, and if they're at all charitable they should extend you the same.