PDA

View Full Version : Extra strength, cheap?

noparlpf
2011-08-19, 04:11 PM
Bridle of Burden-Bearing: This bit-and-bridle set increases the Strength score of the harnessed dray creature, enabling it to pull heavier loads.
Caster Level: 8th; Prerequisites: Craft Wondrous Item, bull’s strength; Market Price: 4,000 gp (+2), 16,000 gp (+4), 36,000 gp (+6); Weight: —.

"Dray", when used to refer to a creature rather than to a wagon, is usually applied to horses or similar. However, according to various sources (wikipedia and etymonline are the ones I checked), "dray" derives from the Old English dragan, meaning "to draw" or "to haul"; similarly, the Dutch word dragen means "to carry".
It might be a little bit of a stretch, but I'd say that a "dray creature" is any creature that frequently carries, drags, or hauls stuff. I'd say I do that most days, and I'm not even an adventurer burdened with the equipment most adventurers are assumed to carry; I'm a college student (and the guy who most people come to when they want help carrying things).
If we accept the premise that any creature that carries things is a "dray creature", then any creature carrying anything besides its clothing (if any) and this item would benefit from it.

Now here's a bit more of a stretch: the text states that this item "increases" the wearer's Strength score. It doesn't provide any sort of bonus, it just increases Strength.
Your character might look a little bit silly walking around with a bit and bridle harnessed to his head (unless he's one of those horse-folk, whatever they're called; then he just looks like he has an abusive girlfriend), but I think that this might be a cheap way of getting an extra boost to Strength due to this oversight on the part of WotC's editors.

Who wants to tear apart my logic first?

sonofzeal
2011-08-19, 04:30 PM
Market Price: 4,000 gp (+2), 16,000 gp (+4), 36,000 gp (+6)